

Becca Nash, Director

Date: January 13, 2023 To: Governor Tim Walz Chair, Senate Finance Committee, Senator John Marty Minority Lead, Senate Finance Committee, Senator Eric Pratt Chair, Senate Environment, Climate, and Legacy Committee, Senator Foung Hawi Minority Lead, Senate Environment, Climate, and Legacy Committee, Senator Justin Eichorn Chair, House Ways and Means Committee, Representative Liz Olson Minority Lead, House Ways and Means Committee, Representative Pat Garofalo Chair, House Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy Committee, Representative Rick Hansen Minority Lead, House Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy Committee, **Representative Josh Heintzeman** Legislative Reference Library From: Legislative-Citizen Commission on Minnesota Resources (LCCMR)

Subject: Biennial Report required by M.S. 116P.09, Subd. 7

The LCCMR biennial report as required in M.S. 116P.09, Subd. 7 from the Legislative-Citizen Commission on Minnesota Resources (LCCMR) due January 15, 2023 is hereby transmitted. It is available in a CD or print format upon request or on the LCCMR web site at:

https://www.lccmr.leg.mn/documents/biennial rpt/2023/2023 biennial report.html.

The report covers LCCMR actions from January 1, 2021 to December 31, 2022, including summaries of past funding accomplishments and new recommendations for funding from the Environment and Natural Resources Trust Fund (ENRTF).

There is \$79,644,000 available for expenditure in each year of the FY24-25 biennium from the ENRTF (for a biennial total of \$159,288,000). The amount available for expenditure is determined by the Minnesota Constitution, which states: "The amount appropriated each year of a biennium....may be up to 5.5% of the market value of the fund on June 30 one year before the start of the biennium". The value of the ENRTF on June 30, 2022 was \$1,448,074,000.

The LCCMR is making a funding recommendation to the 2023 Legislature totaling \$79,833,000 (FY24) which includes \$79,644,000 from the ENRTF and \$189,000 from the Great Lakes Protection Account (GLPA). \$79,644,000 (FY25) would be available for recommendation by the LCCMR to the 2024 Legislature. As stated in M.S. 116P, the LCCMR may make an annual or a biennial funding recommendation.

The list of FY24 recommended appropriations totaling \$79,833,000 from the ENRTF and GLPA is provided in "Section V. Recommendations." The projects and funding levels were adopted by the LCCMR on August 30, 2022. The proposed legislative bill language is pending review by LCCMR at our upcoming meeting in January.

### LEGISLATIVE-CITIZEN COMMISSION ON MINNESOTA RESOURCES

Please let me know if you have questions or would like additional discussion. Thank you for the opportunity to serve the Legislature in this capacity.

Sincerely,

Ban Nass

Becca Nash, Director On behalf of the LCCMR

cc: LCCMR Members as of January 13, 2023

# Legislative-Citizen Commission on Minnesota Resources

Biennial Report January 15, 2023



Pursuant to: M.S. 116P.09, Subd. 7

## LCCMR Membership January 1, 2021 – January 1, 2023

		APPOINTED NON-LEGISLATIVE
<b>REPRESENTATIVES</b>	<b>SENATORS</b>	MEMBERS
Rep. Patty Acomb	Sen. Gary Dahms	GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS
Rep. Rob Ecklund (delegated Rep. Kelly	Sen. Kari Dziedzic*	Rita Albrecht (appointed: 4/5/2021 - term ends: 12/31/2024)
Morrison 1/2022)	Sen. Foung Hawj	William Faber* (appointed: 3/7/2022 - term ends: 12/31/2025)
Rep. Rick Hansen*	Sen. Bill Ingebrigtsen*	Nancy Gibson* (appointed: 4/5/2021 - term ends: 12/31/2023)
Rep. Dale Lueck	Sen. David Tomassoni (delegated Sen. Gary	Seth Moore (appointed: 3/7/2022 - term ends: 12/31/2025)
Rep. Kelly Morrison	Dahms 5/2022)	Jeremy Peichel (appointed: 4/19/2021 - term ends: 12/31/2024)
Rep. Tama Theis*	Sen. Torrey Westrom	Della Young (appointed: 12/20/2017 - term ends: 12/31/2021)

#### SENATE APPOINTMENTS

ADDOINTED NON LEGISLATIVE

Michael Reese (appointed: 5/24/2018 - term ends: 12/31/2021)

#### HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES APPOINTMENT

Denny McNamara (appointed: 5/2/2018 - term ends: 12/31/2021) Shona Langseth (appointed: 12/22/2021 - term ends: 12/31/2025)

# LCCMR Staff

\*Denotes Executive Committee Members

Becca Nash, Director Michael Lind Varien, Senior Project Analyst Corrie Layfield, Senior Project Analyst Mike Campana, Senior Project Analyst Diana Griffith, Commission Assistant

Legislative-Citizen Commission on Minnesota Resources Room 65, State Office Building 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd. St. Paul, MN 55155

> Phone: (651) 296-2406 E-Mail: lccmr@lccmr.mn.gov Web: www.lccmr.mn.gov