LEGISLATIVE-CITIZEN COMMISSION ON MINNESOTA RESOURCES

100 REV. DR. MARTIN LUTHER KING JR. BLVD. ROOM 65 STATE OFFICE BUILDING ST. PAUL, MINNESOTA 55155-1201

Web: www.lccmr.leg.mn TTY: (651) 296-9896 or 1-800-657-3550

Phone: (651) 296-2406

Email: lccmr@lccmr.leg.mn

Becca Nash, Director

Date: January 15, 2021 **To:** Governor Tim Walz

Chair, Senate Finance Committee, Senator Julie Rosen

Minority Lead, Senate Finance Committee, Senator John Marty

Chair, Senate Environment and Natural Resources Finance Committee, Senator Bill Ingebrigtsen

Minority Lead, Senate Environment and Natural Resources Finance Committee, Senator Patricia Torres Ray

Chair, House Ways and Means Committee, Representative Rena Moran

Minority Lead, House Ways and Means Committee, Representative Pat Garofalo

Chair, House Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy Committee,

Representative Rick Hansen

Minority Lead, House Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy Committee,

Representative Josh Heintzeman

Legislative Reference Library

From: Legislative-Citizen Commission on Minnesota Resources (LCCMR)

Subject: Biennial Report required by M.S. 116P.09, Subd. 7

The LCCMR biennial report as required in M.S. 116P.09, Subd. 7 from the Legislative-Citizen Commission on Minnesota Resources (LCCMR) due January 15, 2021 is hereby transmitted. It is available in a CD or print format upon request or on the LCCMR web site at:

https://www.lccmr.leg.mn/documents/biennial rpt/2021/2021 biennial report.html.

The report covers LCCMR actions from January 1, 2019 to December 31, 2020, including summaries of past funding accomplishments and new recommendations for funding from the Environment and Natural Resources Trust Fund (ENRTF).

There is \$70,881,000 available for expenditure in each year of the FY22-23 biennium from the ENRTF (for a biennial total of \$141,762,000). The amount available for expenditure is determined by the Minnesota Constitution, which states: "The amount appropriated each year of a biennium....may be up to 5.5% of the market value of the fund on June 30 one year before the start of the biennium". The value of the ENRTF on June 30, 2020 was \$1,288,757,980.88.

The LCCMR is making a funding recommendation to the 2021 Legislature totaling \$70,881,000 (FY22) from the ENRTF. \$70,881,000 (FY23) would be available for recommendation by the LCCMR to the 2022 Legislature. As stated in M.S. 116P, the LCCMR may make an annual or a biennial funding

LEGISLATIVE-CITIZEN COMMISSION ON MINNESOTA RESOURCES

recommendation. Additionally, the FY21 tentative recommendations totaling \$61,387,000 from the ENRTF was introduced in the 2020 legislative session but have not yet been passed.

The list of FY22 recommended appropriations totaling \$70,881,000 from the Environment and Natural Resources Trust Fund is provided in "Section V. Recommendations." The funding levels and the proposed legislative bill were adopted by the LCCMR on November 18, 2020.

Please let me know if you have questions or would like additional discussion. Thank you for the opportunity to serve the Legislature in this capacity.

Sincerely,

Becca Nash, Director
On behalf of the LCCMR

cc: LCCMR Members as of January 12, 2021

Legislative-Citizen Commission on Minnesota Resources

Biennial Report January 15, 2021



Pursuant to: M.S. 116P.09, Subd. 7

Commission Members

LCCMR Membership January 1, 2019 – January 1, 2021

APPOINTED I		APPOINTED NON-LEGISLATIVE		
<u>REPRESENTATIVES</u>	<u>SENATORS</u>	<u>MEMBERS</u>		
Rep. Rob Ecklund	Sen. Gary Dahms	GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS		
Rep. Rick Hansen*	Sen. Kari Dziedzic	William Faber (appointed: 12/20/2017 - term ends: 12/31/2021)		
Rep. Josh Heintzeman	Sen. Bill Ingebrigtsen*	Nancy Gibson* (appointed: 6/18/2016 - term ends: 12/31/2019) Nicole Kessler (appointed: 1/31/2017 - term ends:12/31/2020)		
Rep. Tama Theis*	Sen. David Tomassoni*			
Rep. Jean Wagenius	Sen. Torrey Westrom	Norm Moody (appointed: 1/31/2017 - term ends: 12/31/2020) Della Young*		
		(appointed: 12/20/2017 - term ends: 12/31/2021)		
		SENATE APPOINTMENTS Michael Reese (appointed: 5/24/2018 - term ends: 12/31/2021)		
		HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES APPOINTMENT Denny McNamara (appointed: 5/2/2018 - term ends: 12/31/2021)		

LCCMR Staff

Becca Nash, Director
Michael Lind Varien, Senior Project Analyst
Corrie Layfield, Senior Project Analyst
Rory Anderson, Project Analyst and Communications Specialist
Diana Griffith, Commission Assistant

Legislative-Citizen Commission on Minnesota Resources Room 65, State Office Building 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd. St. Paul, MN 55155

> Phone: (651) 296-2406 E-Mail: lccmr@lccmr.leg.mn Web: www.lccmr.leg.mn

^{*}Denotes Executive Committee Members

Page	6	of	6