

LEGISLATIVE-CITIZEN COMMISSION ON MINNESOTA RESOURCES

100 REV. DR. MARTIN LUTHER KING JR. BLVD. **ROOM 65 STATE OFFICE BUILDING** TRUST FUND ST. PAUL, MINNESOTA 55155-1201

Phone: (651) 296-2406 Email: lccmr@lccmr.mn.gov Web: www.lccmr.mn.gov

Becca Nash, Director

MINUTES

Wednesday, August 10, 2022 Time: 9:00 AM to 3:45 PM

Location: through electronic means (YouTube)

Members Present: Rep. Patty Acomb, Rita Albrecht, Sen. Gary Dahms, Sen. Kari Dziedzic, William Faber, Nancy Gibson, Rep. Rick Hansen, Sen. Foung Hawi, Sen. Bill Ingebrigtsen, Rep. Dale Lueck, Seth Moore, Rep. Kelly Morrison, Michael Reese, Shona Snater, Rep. Tama Theis, Sen. Torrey Westrom

Staff Present: B. Nash, M. Varien, C. Layfield, M. Campana, D. Griffith

Members Excused: Jeremy Peichel

Members Absent:

Co-Chair: Sen. Bill Ingebrigtsen

Co-Chair Ingebrigtsen called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. and asked Commissioner Gibson to chair the meeting for approximately 30 minutes and again after lunch break. Co-Chair Gibson took over chairing the meeting.

1. Roll call attendance

Diana Griffith took roll call for attendance. There were 12 members present at the time of roll-call and nine were needed for a quorum.

Member	Υ	N	Member	Υ	N
Commissioner Acomb - Rep	Х		Commissioner Lueck - Rep	Х	
Commissioner Albrecht	Х		Commissioner Moore	Х	
Commissioner Dahms - Sen	Х		Commissioner Morrison – Rep	Х	
Commissioner Dziedzic - Sen	excused		Commissioner Peichel	excused	
Commissioner Faber	Х		Commissioner Reese	Х	
Commissioner Gibson	Х		Commissioner Snater	excused	
Commissioner Hansen – Rep	X		Commissioner Theis – Rep	Х	
Commissioner Hawj – Sen	excused		Commissioner Westrom – Sen	excused	
Commissioner Ingebrigtsen – Sen	Х				

Senator Ingebrigtsen joined the meeting from his office in St. Paul, Minnesota.

2. Members report potential conflicts of interest regarding today's business

Members reported the following conflicts of interest:

LEGISLATIVE-CITIZEN COMMISSION ON MINNESOTA RESOURCES

Member						
					Members with	
Proposal ID	First Name	Last Name	Project Title	Organization	Conflict of Interest	
2023-081	Kent	Skaar	Minnesota State Trails Development	MN DNR, State Parks and Trails Division	Jeremy Peichel	
2023-100	Wettstein	Shannon	Planting for the Future	Morrison Soil and Water Conservation District	Bill Faber	
2023-148	Shelby	Kok	Acquisition of State Parks and Trails Inholdings	MN DNR, State Parks and Trails Division	Jeremy Peichel	
2023-169	Jacob	Haus	Efficacy of Urban Archery Hunting to Manage Deer	Minnesota State Colleges and Universities, Bemidji State University	Rita Albrecht	

3. Environment and Natural Resources Trust Fund 2023 Proposal Presentations (FY24) – see attached schedule (subject to change)

Commissioner Hawj joined the meeting.

Commissioner Dziedzic joined the meeting.

Commissioner Snater joined the meeting.

Commissioner Westrom joined the meeting.

Co-Chair Ingebrigtsen returned to chairing the meeting after the third presentation.

See Attachment #1 for Presentation Schedule for August 10, 2022.

Members moved to Agenda Item 6 "LCCMR Other Business".

Member recessed at 11:15 a.m. and reconvened at 12:00 p.m. and continued presentations.

4. Continuation of Environment and Natural Resources Trust Fund 2023 Proposal Presentations (FY24) – see attached schedule (subject to change)

Co-Chair Gibson returned to chairing the meeting.

See Attachment #1 for Presentation Schedule for August 10, 2022.

5. Action: 2022 Legislative Adds – presentations and work plan approvals

There were no 2022 legislative adds presented today.

6. LCCMR Other Business

A. ML 2022 Work Plan Approvals:

Workplan for 2022-142 River Habitat Restoration and Recreation in Melrose (previously "RDB;" Colleen Winters, City of Melrose)

Michael Varien provided an overview of M.L. 2022, Chp. 94, Sec. 2, Subd. 08k "River Habitat Restoration and Recreation in Melrose (ID: 2022-142). Members discussed.

MOTION: Commissioner Hansen moved to approve M.L. 2022, Chp. 94, Sec. 2, Subd. 08k "River Habitat Restoration and Recreation in Melrose (ID: 2022-142) – motion prevailed (12 Yes / 0 No / 5 Excused).

Member	Υ	N	Member	Y	N
Commissioner Acomb - Rep	Х		Commissioner Lueck - Rep	Х	
Commissioner Albrecht	Х		Commissioner Moore	Х	
Commissioner Dahms - Sen	Х		Commissioner Morrison – Rep	Х	

LEGISLATIVE-CITIZEN COMMISSION ON MINNESOTA RESOURCES

Commissioner Dziedzic - Sen	excused	Commissioner Peichel	excused	
Commissioner Faber	Х	Commissioner Reese	excused	
Commissioner Gibson	Х	Commissioner Snater	excused	
Commissioner Hansen – Rep	Х	Commissioner Theis – Rep	Х	
Commissioner Hawj – Sen	excused	Commissioner Westrom – Sen	Х	
Commissioner Ingebrigtsen – Sen	Х			

Members returned to Agenda Item 3 and recessed for lunch break.

7. Public Testimony

No public testimony.

8. Adjourn

Meeting adjourned at 1:05 p.m.

Signed by Rep. Tama Theis Minutes approved at LCCMR meeting on August 16, 2022