ENVIRONMENT

LEGISLATIVE-CITIZEN COMMISSION ON MINNESOTA RESOURCES

100 REV. DR. MARTIN LUTHER KING JR. BLVD. **ROOM 65 STATE OFFICE BUILDING** TRUST FUND ST. PAUL, MINNESOTA 55155-1201

Phone: (651) 296-2406 Email: lccmr@lccmr.mn.gov Web: www.lccmr.mn.gov

Becca Nash, Director

MINUTES

Tuesday, March 22, 2022 Time: 12:00 to 1:00 PM

Location: through electronic means (YouTube)

Members Present: Rep. Patty Acomb, Rita Albrecht, Sen. Kari Dziedzic, Rep. Rob Ecklund, William Faber, Nancy Gibson, Rep. Rick Hansen, Sen. Foung Hawj, Sen. Bill Ingebrigtsen, Rep. Dale Lueck, Seth Moore, Rep. Kelly Morrison, Jeremy Peichel, Michael Reese, Rep. Tama Theis, Sen. David Tomassoni, Sen. Torrey Westrom

Staff Present: B. Nash, M. Varien, C. Layfield, M. Campana, R. Anderson, D. Griffith

Members Excused: Members Absent:

Co-Chair: Nancy Gibson

Co-Chair Gibson called the meeting to order at 12:00 p.m.

1. Roll call attendance

Diana Griffith took roll call for attendance. There were 14 members present at the time of roll-call and nine were needed for a quorum.

Member	Υ	N	Member	Y	N
Commissioner Acomb - Rep		Х	Commissioner Moore	Х	
Commissioner Albrecht	Х		Commissioner Morrison – Rep	Х	
Commissioner Dziedzic - Sen	Х		Commissioner Peichel	Х	
Commissioner Faber	Х		Commissioner Reese	Х	
Commissioner Gibson	Х		Commissioner Snater	Х	
Commissioner Hansen – Rep	Х		Commissioner Theis – Rep	Х	
Commissioner Hawj – Sen		Х	Commissioner Tomassoni - Sen	Х	
Commissioner Ingebrigtsen – Sen	Х		Commissioner Westrom – Sen		Х
Commissioner Lueck - Rep	Х				

Commissioner Acomb joined the meeting after roll call.

2. Approve the minutes for December 15, 2021

MOTION: Commissioner Reese moved to approve the minutes for December 15, 2021 – motion prevailed.

3. Members report potential conflicts of interest regarding today's business

Members reported the following conflicts of interest for M.L. 2022 (FY23):

Proposal ID	First Name	Last Name	Project Title	Organization	Members With Conflict of Interest
2022-031	Jacob	Haus	Efficacy of Urban Archery Hunting to Manage Deer	Minnesota State Colleges and Universities / Bemidji State University	Rita Albrecht
2022-125	Adam	Arvidson	Connecting the Mississippi Flyway to Urban Open Space	Minneapolis Parks and Recreation Board	Jeremy Peichel
2022-224	Nicholas	Phelps	Is the Tire Chemical 6PPDq Killing Minnesota's Fish?	U of MN / College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences	Seth Moore
2022-244	Adam	Arvidson	Bohemian Flats Savanna Restoration	Minneapolis Parks and Recreation Board	Jeremy Peichel
2022-246	Adam	Arvidson	Roberts Bird Sanctuary and Lyndale Gardens	Minneapolis Parks and Recreation Board	Jeremy Peichel
2022-251	Joel	Tallaksen	Mitigations Strategies for Agroplastic PFAS and Microplastic Contamination	U of MN, WCROC	Michael Reese
2022-273	MaryLynn	Pulscher	BioBlitzes Engaging Community in Scientific Efforts	Minneapolis Parks and Recreation Board	Jeremy Peichel
2022-291	Blaine	Hill	Morris GHG Emissions Inventory and Mitigation Strategies	City of Morris	Michael Reese

4. Introduction for new LCCMR Members

Co-Chair Gibson welcomed new members and asked members to introduce themselves.

Commissioner Westrom joined the meeting.

5. Director's report

Director Nash announced the Renewable Energy Demonstration Projects at Wastewater Treatment Facilities Request for Proposals is posted and due by June 10, 2022. Ms. Nash also stated LCCMR staff are in the office part time.

6. Action: 2022 Calendar

Director Nash reviewed the 2022 Calendar. Members discussed.

MOTION: Commissioner Hansen moved to approve the 2022 Calendar – motion prevailed. (14 Yes / 2 No / 1 Excused)

Member	Υ	N	Member	Υ	N
Commissioner Acomb - Rep	Х		Commissioner Moore	Х	
Commissioner Albrecht	Х		Commissioner Morrison – Rep	Х	
Commissioner Dziedzic - Sen	excused		Commissioner Peichel	Х	
Commissioner Faber	Х		Commissioner Reese		Х
Commissioner Gibson	Х		Commissioner Snater	Х	
Commissioner Hansen – Rep	Х		Commissioner Theis – Rep	Х	
Commissioner Hawj – Sen	Х		Commissioner Tomassoni - Sen	Х	
Commissioner Ingebrigtsen – Sen	Х		Commissioner Westrom – Sen		Х
Commissioner Lueck - Rep	Х				

Commissioner Hawj joined the meeting.

7. Action: 2023 Request for Proposal (RFP)

Members discussed.

MOTION: Commissioner Hansen moved to approve the Environment and Natural Resources Trust Fund (ENRTF) 2023 Request for Proposal – motion prevailed. (17 Yes / 0 No)

Member	Y	N	Member	Y	N
Commissioner Acomb - Rep	Х		Commissioner Moore	Х	
Commissioner Albrecht	Х		Commissioner Morrison – Rep	Х	
Commissioner Dziedzic - Sen	Х		Commissioner Peichel	Х	
Commissioner Faber	Х		Commissioner Reese	Х	
Commissioner Gibson	Х		Commissioner Snater	Х	
Commissioner Hansen – Rep	Х		Commissioner Theis – Rep	Х	
Commissioner Hawj – Sen	Х		Commissioner Tomassoni - Sen	Х	
Commissioner Ingebrigtsen – Sen	Х		Commissioner Westrom – Sen	Х	
Commissioner Lueck - Rep	Х				

8. Action: Election of new citizen chair(s)

Co-Chair Hansen took over chairing the meeting and started discussions on the election of the Citizen Chairs.

Commissioner Albrecht nominated Commissioner Gibson and Commissioner Reese nominated Commissioner Peichel to serve as Citizen Chair.

Commissioner Gibson spoke on behalf of her nomination to be the Chair. Commissioner Peichel spoke on behalf of his nomination to be the Chair.

Citizen members voted for the Citizen Chair position. 5 votes were cast for Commissioner Gibson and 2 votes cast for Commissioner Peichel. Commissioner Gibson will be the Citizen Chair for a term until 2023.

Member	Gibson	Peichel	Member	Gibson	Peichel
Commissioner Albrecht	Х		Commissioner Peichel		Х
Commissioner Faber	Х		Commissioner Reese		Х
Commissioner Gibson	Х		Commissioner Snater	Х	
Commissioner Moore	Х				

Members discussed nominations for the Citizen Vice Chair. Commissioner Albrecht nominated Commissioner Faber and Commissioner Reese nominated Commissioner Peichel for Citizen Vice Chair.

Commissioner Faber spoke on behalf of his nomination to be the Citizen Vice Chair. Commissioner Peichel spoke on behalf of his nomination to be the Citizen Vice Chair.

Citizen members voted for the Citizen Vice Chair position. 5 votes were cast for Commissioner Faber and 2 votes cast for Commissioner Peichel. Commissioner Faber will be the Citizen Vice Chair for a term until 2023.

Member	Faber	Peichel	Member	Faber	Peichel
Commissioner Albrecht	Х		Commissioner Peichel		Х
Commissioner Faber	Х		Commissioner Reese		Х
Commissioner Gibson	Х		Commissioner Snater	Х	
Commissioner Moore	Х				

Co-chair Gibson took over again as chair of the meeting.

9. LCCMR Other business

Director Nash provided an overview of the work plan: M.L. 2021, First Special Session, Chp. 6, Art. 5, Sec. 2, Subd. 08l, "Restoring Turf to Native Pollinator Gardens Across Metro". Members discussed.

MOTION: Commissioner Hansen moved to approve the work plan for M.L. 2021, First Special Session, Chp. 6, Art. 5, Sec. 2, Subd. 08l, "Restoring Turf to Native Pollinator Gardens Across Metro" Maryann Passe – motion prevailed. (15 Yes / 0 No / 2 Excused)

Member	Υ	N	Member	Υ	N
Commissioner Acomb - Rep	Х		Commissioner Moore	Х	
Commissioner Albrecht	Х		Commissioner Morrison – Rep	Х	
Commissioner Dziedzic - Sen	excused		Commissioner Peichel	Х	
Commissioner Faber	Х		Commissioner Reese	Х	
Commissioner Gibson	Х		Commissioner Snater	Х	
Commissioner Hansen – Rep	Х		Commissioner Theis – Rep	Х	
Commissioner Hawj – Sen	Х		Commissioner Tomassoni - Sen	excused	
Commissioner Ingebrigtsen – Sen	Х		Commissioner Westrom – Sen	Х	
Commissioner Lueck - Rep	Х				

10. Public Testimony

No public testimony.

11. Adjourn

Meeting adjourned at 1:00 p.m.

Signed by Rep. Tama Theis
Minutes approved at LCCMR meeting on June 27, 2022