

100 REV. DR. MARTIN LUTHER KING JR. BLVD. ROOM 65 STATE OFFICE BUILDING TRUST FUND ST. PAUL, MINNESOTA 55155-1201

Becca Nash, Director

MINUTES

Monday, February 22, 2021 Time: 8:30 AM to 10:00 AM Location: through electronic means (Zoom)

Members Present: Rep. Patty Acomb, Sen. Kari Dziedzic, Rep. Rob Ecklund, William Faber, Nancy Gibson, Rep. Rick Hansen, Sen. Foung Hawj, Sen. Bill Ingebrigtsen, Nicole Kessler, Denny McNamara, Norman Moody, Michael Reese, Rep. Tama Theis, Sen. David Tomassoni, Sen. Torrey Westrom, Della Young

Staff Present: B. Nash, M. Varien, C. Layfield, R. Anderson, D. Griffith

Members Excused:

Members Absent:

Co-Chair: Nancy Gibson

Co-Chair Gibson started the meeting at 8:30 a.m.

Diana Griffith took roll call for attendance. There were 16 members present at the time of roll-call and nine were needed for a quorum.

Member	Y	Ν	Member	Y	Ν
Commissioner Acomb - Rep	Х		Commissioner Lueck – Rep	Х	
Commissioner Dziedzic - Sen	Х		Commissioner McNamara	Х	
Commissioner Ecklund – Rep	Х		Commissioner Moody	Х	
Commissioner Faber	Х		Commissioner Reese	Х	
Commissioner Gibson	Х		Commissioner Theis - Rep	Х	
Commissioner Hansen - Rep	Х		Commissioner Tomassoni - Sen	Х	
Commissioner Hawj - Sen	Х		Commissioner Westrom - Sen	absent	
Commissioner Ingebrigtsen - Sen	Х		Commissioner Young	Х	
Commissioner Kessler	Х				

1. [00:02:40] Approve the minutes for December 17, 2020

MOTION: Commissioner Ingebrigtsen moved to approve the minutes for the LCCMR meeting on December 17, 2020 - motion prevailed.

2. Members report potential conflicts of interest regarding today's business

Members reported no conflicts of interest for today's meeting.

Co-Chair Gibson announced Commissioner Westrom's presence at the meeting.

3. [00:03:40] Introductions for new LCCMR Members

Co-Chair Gibson welcomed new members and asked members to introduce themselves and to state their favorite park. Members provided a brief introduction and named their favorite park in Minnesota.

Director Nash provided a brief Director's report.

Commissioner Kessler clarified an error on the Secretary of State (SOS) website. Ms. Kessler stated she is not reapplying to the LCCMR and has been appointed to the Citizen Selection Committee.

4. [00:34:50] Action: Election of legislative members to Executive Committee

Co-Chair Gibson described the election procedures and referred to the memo titled "Executive Committee Elections to be held February 22, 2021 and Proxy Voting Options".

<u>3 Co-Chairs (House/Senate/Non-legislative)</u>

MOTION: Commissioner Ecklund moved a unanimous ballot for the nomination of Commissioner Hansen for the House Co-Chair– motion prevailed from the House members unanimously. (5 Yes / 0 No)

Member	Y	Ν	Member	Y	Ν
Commissioner Acomb - Rep	х		Commissioner Lueck - Rep	Х	
Commissioner Ecklund – Rep	Х		Commissioner Theis - Rep	Х	
Commissioner Hansen - Rep	Х				

MOTION: Commissioner Tomassoni moved a unanimous ballot for the nomination of Commissioner Ingebrigtsen for the Senate Co-Chair– motion prevailed from the Senate members unanimously. (5 Yes / 0 No)

Member	Y	Ν	Member	Y	Ν
Commissioner Dziedzic - Sen	Х		Commissioner Tomassoni - Sen	Х	
Commissioner Hawj - Sen	Х		Commissioner Westrom - Sen	Х	
Commissioner Ingebrigtsen - Sen	Х				

3 Vice Co-Chairs (House/Senate/Non-legislative)

MOTION: Commissioner Lueck moved a unanimous ballot for the nomination of Commissioner Theis for the Vice Co-Chair for the House members – motion prevailed from the House members unanimously. (5 Yes / 0 No)

Member	Y	N	Member	Y	Ν
Commissioner Acomb - Rep	Х		Commissioner Lueck - Rep	Х	
Commissioner Ecklund – Rep	Х		Commissioner Theis - Rep	Х	
Commissioner Hansen - Rep	Х				

MOTION: Commissioner Westrom moved a unanimous ballot for the nomination of Commissioner Tomassoni for the Vice Co-Chair for the Senate members – motion prevailed from the Senate members unanimously. (5 Yes / 0 No)

Member Y N Member Y N

LEGISLATIVE-CITIZEN COMMISSION ON MINNESOTA RESOURCES

Commissioner Dziedzic - Sen	Х	Commissioner Tomassoni - Sen	Х	
Commissioner Hawj - Sen	Х	Commissioner Westrom - Sen	Х	
Commissioner Ingebrigtsen - Sen	Х			

Co-Chair Gibson stated the citizen member elections will be held after the new citizen members have been announced.

Commissioner McNamara asked about the ML2020 Tentative Recommendations. Co-Chair Gibson said discussions will be heard under Agenda Item 7.

5. [00:41:10] Overview of the Biennial Report submitted January 15, 2021

Director Nash provided an overview of the Biennial Report submitted January 15, 2021.

6. [00:43:43] Action: 2019 Strategic planning: options for completion

Director Nash reviewed the memo on the Strategic Planning Options for Completion and explained the other attachments posted on the agenda. Members discussed.

MOTION: Commissioner Ecklund moved to approve Option 1 from the memo on the Strategic Planning Options for Completion which is to keep the current strategic plan in effect and thus complete the 2019 strategic planning process – motion prevailed (16 Yes / 0 No / 1 Excused).

Member	Y	N	Member	Y	Ν
Commissioner Acomb - Rep	Х		Commissioner Lueck – Rep	Х	
Commissioner Dziedzic - Sen	Х		Commissioner McNamara	Х	
Commissioner Ecklund – Rep	Х		Commissioner Moody	excused	
Commissioner Faber	Х		Commissioner Reese	Х	
Commissioner Gibson	Х		Commissioner Theis - Rep	Х	
Commissioner Hansen - Rep	Х		Commissioner Tomassoni - Sen	Х	
Commissioner Hawj - Sen	Х		Commissioner Westrom - Sen	Х	
Commissioner Ingebrigtsen - Sen	Х		Commissioner Young	Х	
Commissioner Kessler	Х				

7. [01:01:58] LCCMR other business

- **ML 2020 Tentative Recommendations** Commissioner McNamara started discussions on the ML2020 Tentative Recommendations. Members discussed.
- MOTION: Commissioner McNamara moved to reapprove the ML2020 Tentative Recommendations with an LCCMR supermajority vote with the understanding that the House and Senate have already made some changes during 2021 Legislative Session.

Members continued discussions with Commissioner Hansen and Commissioner Ingebrigtsen providing an update on the status in the House and Senate.

AMENDMENT: Commissioner Hansen moved to amend Commissioner McNamara's motion by inserting bill numbers HF30 and SF166.

Members continued discussions.

LEGISLATIVE-CITIZEN COMMISSION ON MINNESOTA RESOURCES

MOTION WITHDRAWN: Motion withdrawn by Commissioner McNamara.

Commissioner Reese reminded members about the discussion on criminal background checks. Commissioner Hansen stated House and Senate leadership received a letter from the LCCMR regarding background checks in early January and asked LCCMR staff to share the letter and motion regarding background checks with commission members.

• Next meeting

Co-Chair Gibson discussed the next LCCMR Meeting date.

MOTION: Commissioner Hansen moved to have staff send out a poll for a LCCMR meeting in early April – motion prevailed (15 Yes / 0 No / 2 Excused).

Member	Y	N	Member	Y	Ν
Commissioner Acomb - Rep	Х		Commissioner Lueck – Rep	Х	
Commissioner Dziedzic - Sen	Х		Commissioner McNamara	Х	
Commissioner Ecklund – Rep	х		Commissioner Moody	excused	
Commissioner Faber	х		Commissioner Reese	Х	
Commissioner Gibson	х		Commissioner Theis - Rep	Х	
Commissioner Hansen - Rep	х		Commissioner Tomassoni - Sen	excused	
Commissioner Hawj - Sen	х		Commissioner Westrom - Sen	Х	
Commissioner Ingebrigtsen - Sen	Х		Commissioner Young	Х	
Commissioner Kessler	Х				

8. Public testimony

No Public testimony.

9. Adjourn

Meeting adjourned at 10:00 a.m.

Signed by Rep. Tama Theis