LEGISLATIVE-CITIZEN COMMISSION ON MINNESOTA RESOURCES

CENTENNIAL OFFICE BUILDING, 1st FLOOR 658 CEDAR STREET TRUST FUND ST. PAUL, MINNESOTA 55155

Email: lccmr@lccmr.mn.gov Web: www.lccmr.mn.gov

Phone: (651) 296-2406

Becca Nash, Director

MINUTES

Thursday, June 27, 2024

Time: 9:00 a.m. to 5:35 p.m.

Location: HYBRID: Room G-23, Minnesota State Capitol, 75 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 and through electronic means (YouTube)

Members Present: Rep. Patty Acomb, Rita Albrecht, Rep. Jeff Backer, William Faber, Nancy Gibson, Sen. Steve Green, Rep. Rick Hansen, Sen. Foung Hawj, Rep. Josh Heintzeman, Rep. Athena Hollins, Shona Langseth, Seth Moore, Jeremy Peichel, Sen. Torrey Westrom

Staff Present: B. Nash, M. Varien, T. Schauffler, D. Griffith

Members Excused: Sen. Aric Putnam, Michael Reese

Members Absent:

Co-Chair: Sen. Foung Hawj

Commissioner Gibson called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

1. Roll call attendance

Commissioner Gibson asked for a roll call. Diana Griffith took roll call for attendance. There were 10 members present at the time of roll call, and nine were needed for a guorum.

Member	Attendance	Member	Attendance
Commissioner Acomb - Rep	Yes (remote)	Commissioner Heintzeman	Absent
Commissioner Albrecht	Yes	Commissioner Hollins – Rep	Yes (remote)
Commissioner Backer – Rep	Yes (remote)	Commissioner Langseth	Yes (remote)
Commissioner Faber	Yes	Commissioner Moore	Yes
Commissioner Gibson	Yes	Commissioner Peichel	Yes
Commissioner Green – Sen	Yes	Commissioner Putnam – Sen	Excused
Commissioner Hansen – Rep	Absent	Commissioner Reese	Excused
Commissioner Hawj – Sen	Absent	Commissioner Westrom – Sen	Absent

2. Members report potential conflicts of interest regarding today's business

Members reported the following conflicts of interest:

Proposal ID	First Name	Last Name	Project Title	Organization	Members With Conflict of Interest
2025-078	Bradley	Heins	Agrivoltaics 2.0 Building a Resilient E- Farm	U of MN, WCROC	Michael Reese
2025-122	Jenni	Bubke	Local Parks, Trails, and Natural Areas Grant Programs	MN DNR, State Parks and Trails Division	Jeremy Peichel
2025-182	Karlin	Ziegler	Lake Zumbro Park Water Access and Site Improvements	Olmsted County	Shona Langseth
2025-241	Joel	Tallaksen	Foundational Precision Agriculture Data to Reduce Environmental Impacts	U of MN, WCROC	Michael Reese
2025-309	Michelle	Carstensen	Recruitment and Fecundity of Minnesota Moose	MN DNR, Fish and Wildlife Division	Seth Moore

3. Environment and Natural Resources Trust Fund 2025 Proposal Presentations (FY26) – see attached schedule (subject to change)

Director Nash explained changes in the posted schedule for presentations.

See Attachment #1 for Presentation Schedule for June 27, 2024.

Commissioner Westrom joined the meeting remotely.

Commissioner Hawj joined the meeting.

Commissioner Gibson gave the gavel to Chair Hawj after presentation ID: 2025-016 "Advancing Equity in Environmental Education".

Commissioner Hansen joined the meeting.

Members recessed at 12:05 p.m. for a lunch break and reconvened at 12:35 p.m.

4. Continuation of Environment and Natural Resources Trust Fund 2025 Proposal Presentations (FY26) – see attached schedule (subject to change)

See Attachment #1 for Presentation Schedule for June 27, 2024.

5. Public Testimony

There was no public testimony.

6. Adjourn

The meeting adjourned at 5:45 p.m.