

100 REV. DR. MARTIN LUTHER KING JR. BLVD. **ROOM 65 STATE OFFICE BUILDING** TRUST FUND ST. PAUL, MINNESOTA 55155-1201

Phone: (651) 296-2406 Email: lccmr@lccmr.mn.gov Web: www.lccmr.mn.gov

Becca Nash, Director

MINUTES

Thursday, June 22, 2023

Time: 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM

Location: HYBRID: Room 120, Minnesota State Capitol, 75 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 and through electronic means (YouTube)

Members Present: Rep. Patty Acomb, Rita Albrecht, Rep. Jeff Backer, William Faber, Nancy Gibson, Sen. Steve Green, Rep. Rick Hansen, Sen. Foung Hawi, Rep. Josh Heintzeman, Rep. Athena Hollins, Shona Langseth, Seth Moore, Sen. Kelly Morrison, Jeremy Peichel, Michael Reese, Sen. Torrey Westrom

Staff Present: B. Nash, M. Varien, M. Campana, N. Fribley, D. Griffith

Members Excused: Sen. Kari Dziedzic

Members Absent:

Co-Chair: Nancy Gibson

Chair Gibson called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

Roll call attendance

Chair Gibson asked for a roll call. Diana Griffith took roll call for attendance. There were 12 members present at the time of roll call, and nine were needed for a quorum.

Member	Υ	N	Member	Y	N
Commissioner Acomb - Rep	Х		Commissioner Heintzeman – Rep	Х	
Commissioner Albrecht	Х		Commissioner Hollins – Rep	Х	
Commissioner Backer – Rep	excused		Commissioner Langseth	absent	
Commissioner Dziedzic - Sen	excused		Commissioner Moore	X	
Commissioner Faber	Х		Commissioner Morrison – Sen	absent	
Commissioner Gibson	Х		Commissioner Peichel	Х	
Commissioner Green - Sen	Х		Commissioner Reese	Х	
Commissioner Hansen – Rep	Х		Commissioner Westrom – Sen	absent	
Commissioner Hawj – Sen	Х				

2. Approve the minutes for June 8, 2023

MOTION: Commissioner Faber moved to approve the minutes for June 8, 2023 – motion prevailed.

3. Members report potential conflicts of interest regarding today's business

Members reported the following conflict of interests for 2024 (FY25):

AGENDA ITEM: 02a

Proposal ID	First Name	Last Name	Project Title	Organization	Members With Conflict of Interest
2024-064	Audrey	Mularie	Local Parks, Trails and Natural Areas Grant Programs	MN DNR, State Parks and Trails Division	Jeremy Peichel
2024-076	Eric	Buchanan	Improving Agricultural Ecosystems through Autonomous Weed Control	U of MN, WCROC	Michael Reese
2024-136	Kent	Skaar	Minnesota State Trails Development	MN DNR, State Parks and Trails Division	Jeremy Peichel
2024-139	Alison	Nyenhuis	The Boundary Waters is Our Backyard	Friends of the Boundary Waters Wilderness	Kelly Morrison
2024-277	Edward	Quinn	Growing the Minnesota Bison Conservation Herd	MN DNR, State Parks and Trails Division	Jeremy Peichel

Members reported the following conflict of interests for 2023 (FY24):

Proposal ID	First Name	Last Name	Project Title	Organization	Members with Conflict of Interest
2023-081	Kent	Skaar	Minnesota State Trails Development	MN DNR, State Parks and Trails Division	Jeremy Peichel
2023-148	Shelby	Kok	Acquisition of State Parks and Trails In-holdings	MN DNR, State Parks and Trails Division	Jeremy Peichel
2023-169	Jacob	Haus	Efficacy of Urban Archery Hunting to Manage Deer	Minnesota State Colleges and Universities, Bemidji State University	Rita Albrecht

Commissioner Morrison joined the meeting.

Commissioner Backer joined the meeting.

Commissioner Langseth joined the meeting.

Commissioner Westrom joined the meeting.

Director Nash provided general instructions regarding presentations today.

4. Environment and Natural Resources Trust Fund 2024 Proposal Presentations (FY25) – see attached schedule (subject to change)

See Attachment #1 for Presentation Schedule for June 22, 2023.

Lunch Break

Members recessed at 11:55 a.m. and reconvened at 12:35 p.m.

5. Continuation of Environment and Natural Resources Trust Fund 2024 Proposal Presentations (FY25) – see attached schedule (subject to change)

See Attachment #1 for Presentation Schedule for June 22, 2023.

6. LCCMR Other Business

- Action: Work plans for projects funded in M.L. 2023
 - a. Approve consent agenda
 - Posted workplans for ML 2023 appropriations

MOTION: Commissioner Hansen moved to approve from the spreadsheet titled "Environment and Natural Resources Trust Fund – Final Work Plan Review and Approvals – M.L. 2023 (FY 2024) June 22, 2023" under "A. Consent Agenda – work plans accepted by staff with reasonable changes from original proposals" lines 3 to 85, including the approval notes and contingencies listed on the spreadsheet – motion prevailed (15 Yes / 0 No).

Member	Y	N	Member	Υ	N
Commissioner Acomb - Rep	Х		Commissioner Heintzeman – Rep	Х	
Commissioner Albrecht	Х		Commissioner Hollins – Rep	Х	
Commissioner Backer – Rep	Х		Commissioner Langseth	Х	
Commissioner Dziedzic - Sen	excused		Commissioner Moore	Х	
Commissioner Faber	Х		Commissioner Morrison – Sen	Х	
Commissioner Gibson	Х		Commissioner Peichel	Х	
Commissioner Green - Sen	Х		Commissioner Reese	Х	
Commissioner Hansen – Rep	Х		Commissioner Westrom – Sen	excused	
Commissioner Hawj – Sen	Х				

b. Plan for remaining work plans

Commissioner Hansen explained the remaining three 2023 work plans will be approved at a future meeting.

- Action: Approve per diem amount for citizen members

Director Nash provided an overview of the statutory change in the maximum per diem rates that occurred during last session. Members discussed.

MOTION: Commissioner Hansen moved to increase the LCCMR citizen members' per diem rate to \$125 – motion prevailed (15 Yes / 0 No).

Member	Y	N	Member	Υ	N
Commissioner Acomb - Rep	Х		Commissioner Heintzeman – Rep	Х	
Commissioner Albrecht	Х		Commissioner Hollins – Rep	Х	
Commissioner Backer – Rep	Х		Commissioner Langseth	Х	
Commissioner Dziedzic - Sen	excused		Commissioner Moore	Х	
Commissioner Faber	Х		Commissioner Morrison – Sen	Х	
Commissioner Gibson	Х		Commissioner Peichel	Х	
Commissioner Green - Sen	Х		Commissioner Reese	Х	
Commissioner Hansen – Rep	Х		Commissioner Westrom – Sen	excused	
Commissioner Hawj – Sen	Х				

MOTION: Commissioner Hansen moved to increase the Trust Fund Citizen Selection Committee members' per diem rate to \$125 – motion prevailed (11 Yes / 4 No).

Member	Υ	N	Member	Υ	N
Commissioner Acomb - Rep	Х		Commissioner Heintzeman – Rep		Х
Commissioner Albrecht	Х		Commissioner Hollins – Rep	Х	
Commissioner Backer – Rep		Х	Commissioner Langseth	Х	
Commissioner Dziedzic - Sen	excused		Commissioner Moore	Х	
Commissioner Faber	Х		Commissioner Morrison – Sen	Х	
Commissioner Gibson	Х		Commissioner Peichel	Х	
Commissioner Green - Sen		Х	Commissioner Reese		Х
Commissioner Hansen – Rep	Х		Commissioner Westrom – Sen	excused	
Commissioner Hawj – Sen	Х				

7. Public Testimony

There was no public testimony.

8. Adjourn

Meeting adjourned at 3:27 pm.
