

LEGISLATIVE-CITIZEN COMMISSION ON MINNESOTA RESOURCES

100 REV. DR. MARTIN LUTHER KING JR. BLVD. **ROOM 65 STATE OFFICE BUILDING** TRUST FUND ST. PAUL, MINNESOTA 55155-1201

Phone: (651) 296-2406 Email: lccmr@lccmr.mn.gov Web: www.lccmr.mn.gov

Becca Nash, Director

MINUTES

Wednesday, August 17, 2022 Time: 9:00 AM to 3:45 PM

Location: through electronic means (YouTube)

Members Present: Rep. Patty Acomb, Rita Albrecht, Sen. Gary Dahms, Sen. Kari Dziedzic, William Faber, Nancy Gibson, Rep. Rick Hansen, Sen. Foung Hawj, Sen. Bill Ingebrigtsen, Shona Langseth, Rep. Dale Lueck, Seth Moore, Rep. Kelly Morrison, Jeremy Peichel, Michael Reese, Sen. Torrey Westrom

Staff Present: M. Varien, C. Layfield, M. Campana, D. Griffith

Staff Excused: B. Nash

Members Excused: Rep. Tama Theis

Members Absent:

Co-Chair: Rep. Rick Hansen

Co-Chair Hansen called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

1. Roll call attendance

Diana Griffith took roll call for attendance. There were 13 members present at the time of roll-call, and nine were needed for a quorum.

Member	Υ	N	Member	Y	N
Commissioner Acomb - Rep	Х		Commissioner Lueck - Rep	Х	
Commissioner Albrecht	excused		Commissioner Moore	Х	
Commissioner Dahms - Sen	Х		Commissioner Morrison – Rep	Х	
Commissioner Dziedzic - Sen	Х		Commissioner Peichel	Х	
Commissioner Faber	Х		Commissioner Reese	Х	
Commissioner Gibson	Х		Commissioner Langseth	Х	
Commissioner Hansen – Rep	Х		Commissioner Theis – Rep	excused	
Commissioner Hawj – Sen	excused		Commissioner Westrom – Sen	excused	
Commissioner Ingebrigtsen – Sen	Х				

Commissioner Hansen joined the meeting from his office in St. Paul, Minnesota.

Commissioner Hawj joined the meeting.

Commissioner Westrom joined the meeting.

Agenda Item: 01b

2. Members report potential conflicts of interest regarding today's business

Members reported the following conflicts of interest:

Proposal ID	First Name	Last Name	Project Title	Organization	Members with Conflict of Interest
2023-081	Kent	Skaar	Minnesota State Trails Development	MN DNR, State Parks and Trails Division	Jeremy Peichel
2023-100	Wettstein	Shannon	Planting for the Future	Morrison Soil and Water Conservation District	Bill Faber
2023-148	Shelby	Kok	Acquisition of State Parks and Trails In-holdings	MN DNR, State Parks and Trails Division	Jeremy Peichel
2023-169	Jacob	Haus	Efficacy of Urban Archery Hunting to Manage Deer	Minnesota State Colleges and Universities, Bemidji State University	Rita Albrecht

3. Environment and Natural Resources Trust Fund 2023 Proposal Presentations (FY24) – see attached schedule (subject to change)

See Attachment #1 for Presentation Schedule for August 17, 2022.

Commissioner Albrecht joined the meeting.

Co-Chair Gibson took over chairing the meeting at 10:30 a.m., and Co-Chair Hansen returned at 11:20 a.m.

Members recessed at 11:30 a.m. and reconvened at 12:15 p.m.

4. Continuation of Environment and Natural Resources Trust Fund 2023 Proposal Presentations (FY24) – see attached <u>schedule</u> (subject to change)

See Attachment #1 for Presentation Schedule for August 17, 2022.

- 5. Action: 2022 Legislative Adds presentations and work plan approvals
 - a. Work plan for 2022-300: Groundwater Storage and Recovery Database, Jay Frischman, MN DNR / Ecological and Water Resources Division
 - b. Work plan for 2022-298: Forest Data Inventory, Dennis Kepler, MN DNR / Forestry Division
 - c. Work plan for 2022-302: Replacing Failing Septic Systems to Protect Groundwater, Courtney Ahlers-Nelson (Brandon Montgomery), Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
 - d. Work plan for 2022-295: Aggregate Resource Mapping, Heather Arends, MN DNR / Lands and Minerals Division

MOTION: Commissioner Albrecht moved to approve M.L. 2022, Chp. 94, Sec. 2, Subd. 10f "Groundwater Storage and Recovery Database", MN DNR / Ecological and Water Resources Division (ID: 2022-300) – motion prevailed (12 Yes / 0 No / 5 Excused).

Member	Y	N	Member	Y	N
Commissioner Acomb - Rep	X		Commissioner Lueck - Rep	Х	

LEGISLATIVE-CITIZEN COMMISSION ON MINNESOTA RESOURCES

Commissioner Albrecht	Х	Commissioner Moore excused	
Commissioner Dahms - Sen	Х	Commissioner Morrison – Rep X	
Commissioner Dziedzic - Sen	Х	Commissioner Peichel X	
Commissioner Faber	Х	Commissioner Reese excused	
Commissioner Gibson	Х	Commissioner Langseth X	
Commissioner Hansen – Rep	Х	Commissioner Theis – Rep excused	
Commissioner Hawj – Sen	excused	Commissioner Westrom – Sen X	
Commissioner Ingebrigtsen – Sen	excused		

MOTION: Commissioner Albrecht moved to approve M.L. 2022, Chp. 94, Sec. 2, Subd. 10d "Forest Data Inventory", MN DNR / Forestry Division (ID: 2022-298) – motion prevailed (12 Yes / 0 No / 5 Excused).

Member	Y	N	Member	Υ	N
Commissioner Acomb - Rep	Х		Commissioner Lueck - Rep	Х	
Commissioner Albrecht	Х		Commissioner Moore	excused	
Commissioner Dahms - Sen	Х		Commissioner Morrison – Rep	Х	
Commissioner Dziedzic - Sen	Х		Commissioner Peichel	Х	
Commissioner Faber	Х		Commissioner Reese	excused	
Commissioner Gibson	Х		Commissioner Langseth	Х	
Commissioner Hansen – Rep	Х		Commissioner Theis – Rep	excused	
Commissioner Hawj – Sen	excused		Commissioner Westrom – Sen	Х	
Commissioner Ingebrigtsen – Sen	excused				

MOTION: Commissioner Peichel moved to approve M.L. 2022, Chp. 94, Sec. 2, Subd. 10h "Replacing Failing Septic Systems to Protect Groundwater", Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (ID: 2022-302) – motion prevailed (12 Yes / 0 No / 5 Excused).

Member	Υ	N	Member	Υ	N
Commissioner Acomb - Rep	Х		Commissioner Lueck - Rep	Х	
Commissioner Albrecht	Х		Commissioner Moore	excused	
Commissioner Dahms - Sen	Х		Commissioner Morrison – Rep	Х	
Commissioner Dziedzic - Sen	Х		Commissioner Peichel	Х	
Commissioner Faber	Х		Commissioner Reese	excused	
Commissioner Gibson	Х		Commissioner Langseth	Х	
Commissioner Hansen – Rep	Х		Commissioner Theis – Rep	excused	
Commissioner Hawj – Sen	excused		Commissioner Westrom – Sen	Х	

LEGISLATIVE-CITIZEN COMMISSION ON MINNESOTA RESOURCES

Commissioner Ingebrigtsen –	excused	
Sen		

MOTION: Commissioner Faber moved to approve M.L. 2022, Chp. 94, Sec. 2, Subd. 10a "Aggregate Resource Mapping", MN DNR / Lands and Minerals Division (ID: 2022-295) – motion prevailed (12 Yes / 0 No / 5 Excused).

Member	Υ	N	Member	Y	N
Commissioner Acomb - Rep	Х		Commissioner Lueck - Rep	Х	
Commissioner Albrecht	Х		Commissioner Moore	excused	
Commissioner Dahms - Sen	Х		Commissioner Morrison – Rep	Х	
Commissioner Dziedzic - Sen	Х		Commissioner Peichel	Х	
Commissioner Faber	Х		Commissioner Reese	excused	
Commissioner Gibson	Х		Commissioner Langseth	Х	
Commissioner Hansen – Rep	Х		Commissioner Theis – Rep	excused	
Commissioner Hawj – Sen	excused		Commissioner Westrom – Sen	Х	
Commissioner Ingebrigtsen – Sen	excused				

6. LCCMR Other Business

There was no other business.

7. Public Testimony

Michael Varien announced there are three handouts posted related to ID: 2022-304 "Pig's Eye Landfill Task Force".

8. Adjourn

Meeting adjourned at 2:30 p.m.