

LEGISLATIVE-CITIZEN COMMISSION ON MINNESOTA RESOURCES

100 REV. DR. MARTIN LUTHER KING JR. BLVD. **ROOM 65 STATE OFFICE BUILDING** TRUST FUND ST. PAUL, MINNESOTA 55155-1201

Email: lccmr@lccmr.leg.mn Web: www.lccmr.leg.mn

Phone: (651) 296-2406

TTY: (651) 296-9896 or 1-800-657-3550

Becca Nash, Director

MINUTES

Wednesday, July 28, 2021 Time: 8:00 AM to 1:00 PM

Location: through electronic means (Zoom)

Members Present: Rep. Patty Acomb, Rita Albrecht, Sen. Kari Dziedzic, Rep. Rob Ecklund, William Faber, Nancy Gibson, Rep. Rick Hansen, Sen. Foung Hawj, Sen. Bill Ingebrigtsen, Rep. Dale Lueck, Denny McNamara, Jeremy Peichel, Michael Reese, Rep. Tama Theis, Sen. David Tomassoni, Sen. Torrey Westrom

Staff Present: M. Varien, C. Layfield, M. Campana, R. Anderson, D. Griffith

Members Excused: Della Young

Members Absent:

Co-Chair: Rep. Rick Hansen

Co-Chair Hanson started the meeting at 8:00 a.m.

1. Roll call attendance

Diana Griffith took roll call for attendance. There were 13 members present at the time of roll-call and nine were needed for a quorum.

Member	Υ	N	Member	Υ	N	
Commissioner Acomb - Rep	Х		Commissioner Lueck – Rep	Х		
Commissioner Albrecht	Х		Commissioner McNamara	Х		
Commissioner Dziedzic - Sen	Х		Commissioner Peichel	Х		
Commissioner Ecklund – Rep	Х		Commissioner Reese	Х		
Commissioner Faber	Х		Commissioner Theis - Rep	Х		
Commissioner Gibson	Х		Commissioner Tomassoni - Sen	Х		
Commissioner Hansen - Rep	Х		Commissioner Westrom - Sen	Х		
Commissioner Hawj - Sen	Х		Commissioner Young	exc	excused	
Commissioner Ingebrigtsen - Sen	Х					

2. Members report potential conflicts of interest regarding today's business

Members reported the following conflicts of interest:

LEGISLATIVE-CITIZEN COMMISSION ON MINNESOTA RESOURCES

Proposal ID	First Name	Last Name	Project Title	Organization	Members With Conflict of Interest
2022-031	Jacob	Haus	Efficacy of Urban Archery Hunting to Manage Deer	Minnesota State Colleges and Universities / Bemidji State University	Rita Albrecht
2022-068	Ron	Moen	Minnesota Mammal Atlas	U of MN, Duluth - NRRI	Jeremy Peichel
2022-125	Adam	Arvidson	Connecting the Mississippi Flyway to Urban Open Space	Minneapolis Parks and Recreation Board	Jeremy Peichel
2022-244	Adam	Arvidson	Bohemian Flats Savanna Restoration	Minneapolis Parks and Recreation Board	Jeremy Peichel
2022-246	Adam	Arvidson	Roberts Bird Sanctuary and Lyndale Gardens	Minneapolis Parks and Recreation Board	Jeremy Peichel
2022-251	Joel	Tallaksen	Mitigations Strategies for Agroplastic PFAS and Microplastic Contamination	U of MN, WCROC	Michael Reese
2022-273	MaryLynn	Pulscher	BioBlitzes Engaging Community in Scientific Efforts	Minneapolis Parks and Recreation Board	Jeremy Peichel
2022-291	Blaine	Hill	Morris GHG Emissions Inventory and Mitigation Strategies	City of Morris	Michael Reese

3. Environment and Natural Resources Trust Fund 2022 Proposal Presentations (FY23) – see attached schedule (subject to change)

Commissioner Hawj joined the meeting.

Commissioner Acomb joined the meeting.

Commissioner Ecklund joined the meeting.

See Attachment #1 for Presentation Schedule for July 28, 2021.

4. LCCMR Other business

a. Action: Provisional approval of "2020" work plans (M.L. 2021, First Special Session, Chp. 6, Art. 5, Sec. 2.); consent items only

MOTION: Commissioner Ecklund moved to approve the provisional approval of "2020" work plans (M.L. 2021, First Special Session, Chp. 6, Art. 5, Sec. 2) on the spreadsheet titled "Environment and Natural Resources Trust Fund Final Work Plan Review and Approvals - M.L. 2021 (RFP 2020/ FY 2021) 7/28/21" for Lines 2 through 74 including notes with staff allowed to make minor corrections – motion prevailed (12 Yes / 0 No / 5 excused).

LEGISLATIVE-CITIZEN COMMISSION ON MINNESOTA RESOURCES

Member	Υ	N	Member	Υ	N
Commissioner Acomb - Rep	Х		Commissioner Lueck – Rep	Х	
Commissioner Albrecht	Х		Commissioner McNamara	Х	
Commissioner Dziedzic - Sen	excused		Commissioner Peichel	Х	
Commissioner Ecklund – Rep	Х		Commissioner Reese	excused	
Commissioner Faber	Х		Commissioner Theis - Rep	Х	
Commissioner Gibson	Х		Commissioner Tomassoni - Sen	Х	
Commissioner Hansen - Rep	Х		Commissioner Westrom - Sen	excused	
Commissioner Hawj - Sen	exc	used	Commissioner Young	excused	
Commissioner Ingebrigtsen - Sen	Х				

b. Action: Approval of additional "2021" work plans (M.L. 2021, First Special Session, Chp. 6, Art. 6, Sec. 2.); consent items only

MOTION: Commissioner Ecklund moved to approve the provisional approval of "2021" work plans (M.L. 2021, First Special Session, Chp. 6, Art. 6, Sec. 2) on the spreadsheet titled "Environment and Natural Resources Trust Fund Final Work Plan Review and Approvals - M.L. 2021 (FY22) 7/28/21" for lines 3 and 4 including notes with staff allowed to make minor corrections – motion prevailed (12 Yes / 0 No / 5 excused).

Member	Y	N	Member	Y	N
Commissioner Acomb - Rep	Х		Commissioner Lueck – Rep	Х	
Commissioner Albrecht	Х		Commissioner McNamara	Х	
Commissioner Dziedzic - Sen	excused		Commissioner Peichel	Х	
Commissioner Ecklund – Rep	Х		Commissioner Reese	excused	
Commissioner Faber	Х		Commissioner Theis - Rep	Х	
Commissioner Gibson	Х		Commissioner Tomassoni - Sen	Х	
Commissioner Hansen - Rep	Х		Commissioner Westrom - Sen	excused	
Commissioner Hawj - Sen	excused		Commissioner Young	excused	
Commissioner Ingebrigtsen - Sen	Х				

Michael Varien reminded members scoring is due by August 6, 2021.

5. Public Testimony

No public testimony.

Members discussed the protocol for public testimony and for staff to create standard operating procedures for public testimony.

6. Adjourn

Meeting adjourned at 12:08 p.m.

LEGISLATIVE-CITIZEN COMMISSION ON MINNESOTA RESOURCES