LEGISLATIVE-CITIZEN COMMISSION ON MINNESOTA RESOURCES

100 REV. DR. MARTIN LUTHER KING JR. BLVD. ROOM 65 STATE OFFICE BUILDING ST. PAUL, MINNESOTA 55155-1201

Phone: (651) 296-2406 Fax: (651) 296-1321 Email: lccmr@lccmr.leg.mn Web: www.lccmr.leg.mn

TTY: (651) 296-9896 or 1-800-657-3550

Susan Thornton, Director

MEDIA ADVISORY

Contact: Mike Banker - (651) 296-2668

New legislative members appointed to Legislative-Citizen Commission on Minnesota Resources and first meeting scheduled

SAINT PAUL, MN (02/17/2011) -- The Legislative-Citizen Commission on Minnesota Resources (LCCMR) – the group that makes project funding recommendations to the state legislature on expenditures from Minnesota's Environment and Natural Resources Trust Fund, the state's first constitutionally dedicated funding source for protection of its unique natural resources – has received its legislative appointments from the Minnesota House of Representatives and Minnesota Senate for calendar years 2011-2012 and has been scheduled to meet for the first time with its new membership on the evening of Monday, February 21 from 5:45-9:00 pm.

The legislative appointees are as follows:

House Members
Rep. David Dill
Rep. Tom Hackbarth
Rep. Denny McNamara
Rep. Tom Rukavina
Rep. Ron Shimanski

Senate Members
Sen. Al DeKruif
Sen. Linda Higgins
Sen. Bill Ingebrigtsen
Sen. Gen Olson
Sen. Rod Skoe

None of the four-year terms for the non-legislative LCCMR members were set to expire this year and all seven non-legislative members will continue to serve on the LCCMR. The continuing non-legislative members are as follows:

Non-Legislative Members

Alfred Berner
Jeff Broberg
Tom Cook
Nancy Gibson
John Herman
Norman Moody
Elizabeth Wilkens

Additional information about LCCMR members is available at: http://www.lccmr.leg.mn/Members/members.html

The LCCMR is scheduled to meet for the first time with its new membership on February 21 from 5:45 pm – 9:00 pm. Members will discuss the LCCMR's current funding recommendations providing \$51.3 million to 92 environment and natural resource projects around the state and the LCCMR's present and future strategic direction. The meeting will take place in Room 200 of the State Office Building in St. Paul, MN.

The meeting agenda is posted at http://www.lccmr.leg.mn/Meetings/LCCMRMeetings.html.

Legislative-Citizen Commission on Minnesota Resources (LCCMR)

The LCCMR is made up of 17 members (5 Senators, 5 Representatives, 5 citizens appointed by the governor, and one citizen each appointed by the Senate and the House). The function of the LCCMR is to make funding recommendations to the Minnesota State Legislature for special environment and natural resource projects, primarily from the Environment and Natural Resources Trust Fund. These projects help maintain and enhance Minnesota's environment and natural resources. The LCCMR developed from a program initiated in 1963. Since 1963, over \$650 million has been appropriated to more than 1,650 projects recommended by the Commission to protect and enhance Minnesota's environment and natural resources.

#