LEGISLATIVE-CITIZEN COMMISSION ON MINNESOTA RESOURCES

100 REV. DR. MARTIN LUTHER KING JR. BLVD. ROOM 65 STATE OFFICE BUILDING ST. PAUL, MINNESOTA 55155-1201

Phone: (651) 296-2406 Email: lccmr@lccmr.leg.mn Web: www.lccmr.leg.mn

TTY: (651) 296-9896 or 1-800-657-3550

Susan Thornton, Director

MEDIA ADVISORY

Contact: Mike Banker – (651) 296-2668, mike.banker@lccmr.leg.mn

New members appointed to Legislative-Citizen Commission on Minnesota Resources and first meeting scheduled

SAINT PAUL, MN (02/11/2013) -- The Legislative-Citizen Commission on Minnesota Resources (LCCMR) – the body that makes project funding recommendations to the state legislature on expenditures from Minnesota's Environment and Natural Resources Trust Fund, the state's first constitutionally dedicated funding source for protection of its unique natural resources – has received its new appointments from the Minnesota House of Representatives, Minnesota Senate, and Governor Mark Dayton. The LCCMR has been scheduled to meet for the first time with its new membership on the evening of Monday, February 18 from 5:30-8:30 pm.

The legislative appointees for calendar years 2013-2014, which include five members from the House and five members from the Senate, are as follows:

House Members

Rep. Dan Fabian (Roseau – District 01A) Rep. Leon Lillie (North St. Paul – District 43B) Rep. John Persell (Bemidji – District 05A) Rep. Paul Torkelson (Hanska – District 16B) Rep. Jean Wagenius (Minneapolis – District 63B)

Senate Members

Sen. Gary Dahms (Redwood Falls – District 16) Sen. Kari Dziedzic (Minneapolis – District 60) Sen. John Hoffman (Champlin – District 36) Sen. David Tomassoni (Chisholm – District 06) Sen. Torrey Westrom (Elbow Lake – District 12)

There were three new appointments of non-legislative members by Governor Dayton. Additionally, the terms of four of the non-legislative LCCMR members did not expire this year and all four will continue to serve on the LCCMR. The non-legislative members are as follows:

New Non-Legislative Member Appointments
William Faber (Cushing)
Bonnie Harper-Lore (Minnetonka)

Norman Moody (Hackensack) [re-appointment]

Continuing Non-Legislative Members
Jeff Broberg (St. Charles)
Tom Cook (Greenfield)

Nancy Gibson (St. Louis Park)
John Herman (Minneapolis)

Additional information about LCCMR members is available at: http://www.lccmr.leg.mn/about/members/members-index.html.

The LCCMR is scheduled to meet for the first time with its new membership on February 18 from 5:30 pm - 8:30 pm. Members will discuss the LCCMR's current funding recommendations providing \$38.2 million to 46 environment and natural resource projects around the state and the LCCMR's next Request for Proposals, which is scheduled to be issued in mid-March for funding available July 1, 2014. The meeting will take place in Room 5 of the State Office Building in St. Paul, MN.

The meeting agenda is posted at http://www.lccmr.leg.mn/calendar/calendar-index.html.

Legislative-Citizen Commission on Minnesota Resources (LCCMR)

The LCCMR is made up of 17 members (5 Senators, 5 Representatives, 5 citizens appointed by the governor, and one citizen each appointed by the Senate and the House). The function of the LCCMR is to make funding recommendations to the Minnesota State Legislature for special environment and natural resource projects, primarily from the Environment and Natural Resources Trust Fund. These projects help maintain and enhance Minnesota's environment and natural resources. The LCCMR developed from a program initiated in 1963. Since 1963, over \$735 million has been appropriated to more than 1,700 projects recommended by the Commission to protect and enhance Minnesota's environment and natural resources.

#